Seasons of Truth

In 2014, I released a novel into the wild, a project I’d been working on for some time, and of which I’m very proud.

In a world ruled by faith and fear, one man discovers a terrible truth: We are not alone…

It’s a story about Heroes, and what it takes to be one. It’s a story about Truth, and what it means. It’s about love, and loss, and things that go bump in the night.

In short, it’s a book. The first one I ever tried writing, in fact, and the one I’ve written over and over as the years went by. It’s the first book I came back to when I was free to write fiction again, and the one I’ve submitted pretty much everywhere as I slowly refined it into its current form.

Seasons Of Truth is an origin story, your first glimpse into a world that hides behind the history we all think we know. Set in 13th century Barcelona, it introduces you to Carlos de Roja, an unassuming man with a gift for languages and analysis. When he uncovers some secrets best left uncovered, his life becomes forever tied to a shadowy world of men and monsters.

Seasons of Truth’s initial electronic release was in four parts.

Winter_HiRes Winter went on sale in May, 2014.

Brother Carlos de Roja of the abbey of Sant Cugat du Valles leads a simple life, until the wars he studies in books and scrolls invade his home. What starts as a search for the identity of the mysterious Karl Outrikos soon embroils him in a dark conspiracy that stretches both across Europe, and back through the centuries to the beginnings of his faith.

Through it all, Carlos searches for one thing only—the truth. And when he finds it, nothing will ever be the same.

Spring released in August, 2014.Spring_HiRes

Father Carlos de Roja set out on his journey seeking answers, but arrived at the abbey of The Blessed Stone near death with no idea how or why he’d come to be there.

In the days that follow he struggles to remember, while at night he battles strange visions which threaten the very nature of his faith.

Are his dreams real? And will the power growing inside him heal the world, or destroy it? Only time will tell, and for Carlos, time is running out…

Summer released in September, 2014.Summer_HiRes

Father Carlos de Roja had high hopes for his time in Paris, but nothing could have prepared him for the lies and half-truths that rule the city’s shadows.

As his visions of the past grow more intense, Carlos becomes increasingly isolated from those around him.

He must find new allies in his search for truth–a search complicated by the arrival of a mysterious inquisitor with his own agenda…

Fall released in November, 2014.Fall_Final_HiRes

Father Carlos de Roja has not had the best of years.

Still struggling with the strange abilities he has developed, he fights a lonely battle against a centuries-old conspiracy to obscure the identity and existence of Karl Outrikos.

Far from home, alone among enemies, Carlos must find a way to reconcile his visions of the past with the world he knows, and raise a candle of truth against the coming darkness.

But wait, there’s more.

About the time I pushed Fall live, I started thinking about the ultimate goal of publishing a print edition. I knew it wouldn’t be cheap, but to hold the book in my hand and not worry about battery life was something I really wanted, so I went deep into research mode and started bothering all my publishing friends with questions.

And the answer is yes. Over the next few months I furiously compiled a print-ready manuscript for a collected edition.

It looks something like this


and is available online, and at fine bookstores everywhere. You can also order signed copies and e-books direct from my online store.

I hope you’ll come to love Carlos as much as I have over the last few years, and hopefully for many years to come.

Scott James Magner
May 12, 2015

For a posts about the process of bringing this book to market, click Seasons of Truth.

Or if you prefer a direct timeline, choose one of the links below

The Boy of Summer

Chasing the Whale

So This Happened…

Down the Rabbit Hole

Sweet Dreams and Flying Machines

Calling All Readers

News of the iWorld

Brave New Words


The Journey Continues

Considering the Blue Pill

One Week

6 More Days Till Summer

5 More Days Till Summer

4 More Days Till Summer

3 More Days Till Summer

2 More Days Till Summer

1 More Day Till Summer

Summer Time

Sneaking One In

Of Books, Birthdays, And Business As Usual

The Terrifying thing Continues

The Madness Continues

Intensifying Panic

On The Uses of Panic

Tis the Season…

This Is What Dreams Look Like

Set ‘Em Up, Knock ‘Em Down!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.